

CITY OF NEWPORT BEACH LIBRARY LECTURE HALL DESIGN COMMITTEE MINUTES

100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Coast Room (Bay 2D) Wednesday, August 19, 2019 9:00 AM

I. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

Chair Jill Johnson-Tucker called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

II. ROLL CALL

Present: Karen Clark, Mayor Diane Dixon, Matthew Witte, Vice Chair Janet Ray, Chair Jill

Johnson-Tucker

Absent: None

III. NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC

Chair Johnson-Tucker reminded everyone to turn off or silence their cell phones.

IV. PUBLIC COMMENTS

1. Adopt Public Comment Time Limits

Chair Johnson-Tucker proposed setting a standard three-minute time limit for public comments.

Jim Mosher stated that the Brown Act does not restrict the public's interaction with a committee as long as all members of the public are treated equally. He stated that because there was a limited number of audience members, he did not believe there was a need to create such rules.

A motion was made by Mayor Diane Dixon, and seconded by Vice Chair Janet Ray, to set a standard three-minute time limit for public comments.

The motion carried 5-0 with the following vote:

AYES: Karen Clark, Mayor Diane Dixon, Matthew Witte, Vice Chair Janet Ray, Chair Jill

Johnson-Tucker

NOES: None ABSENT: None ABSTAIN: None

2. Public Comments

Chair Johnson-Tucker called for public comment on non-agenda items.

No members of the public wished to speak.

V. CONSENT CALENDAR

A motion was made by Matthew Witte, and seconded by Mayor Diane Dixon, to approve the Consent Calendar.

The motion carried 5-0 with the following vote.

AYES: Karen Clark, Mayor Diane Dixon, Matthew Witte, Vice Chair Janet Ray, Chair Jill

Johnson-Tucker

NOES: None ABSENT: None ABSTAIN: None

1. Approval of Minutes

Draft Minutes of the July 31, 2019, Library Lecture Hall Design Committee Meeting

VI. CURRENT BUSINESS

1. Other Work Related to Lecture Hall

Newport Beach Resident Larry Tucker stated that he met with the Public Works Department staff and Planning Department staff. He reported that the Irvine Company has special land use restrictions on the property, which the City will seek to amend to allow the addition of the lecture hall.

2. Discussion of Anticipated Schedule Leading to Design Team Selection

Chair Johnson-Tucker stated that the goal was to get a proposal to the City Council by late October or early November.

3. Creation of Subcommittee(s)

Chair Johnson-Tucker appointed a subcommittee consisting of herself and Matthew Witte, to address items outside of the committee that might come up. There were no objections.

4. Discussion RFP and Seven Proposals Received

Public Works Senior Civil Engineer Peter Tauscher commented on his top four proposals.

Matthew Witte commented on his top four proposals, which were the same as Mr. Tauscher's.

Chair Johnson-Tucker and other members of the Committee commented on their top proposals.

Chair Johnson-Tucker stated that the Committee appeared to agree on Rob Wellington Quigley and Robert R. Coffee Architect + Associates, and that they should return to make a presentation. There was no dissent.

After continued discussion, Chair Johnson-Tucker then noted that the Committee members had not placed LPA and Perkins Eastman Dougherty in the frontrunner group. The Committee agreed, and decided to eliminate the LPA and Perkins Eastman Dougherty proposals from further consideration and to add Bohlin Cywinski Jackson to the top proposals.

Chair Johnson-Tucker opened public comments on this item.

Jim Mosher commented on the proposals, stating that the RFP did not include public input, and inquired about the possibility of the Committee proposing more than one final choice to the City Council.

Meg Linton asked if this would be the last addition to the Civic Center. She also commented on the need for the project to successfully blend into the current campus but also having a signature look, be welcoming and provide easy access for the public.

Jim Mosher advocated for the inclusion of the John Sergio Fisher and Associates proposal into the top proposals in order to provide expansion of the evaluation process.

A motion was made by Matthew Witte, and seconded by Karen Clark, to pick four of the seven finalists and to ask them to return to the Committee with two alternative freehand concepts. The four finalists include: Rob Wellington Quigley, Robert R. Coffee Architect + Associates, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson, and Sander Architects and Mithun | Hodgetts + Fung.

The motion carried 5-0 with the following vote.

AYES: Karen Clark, Mayor Diane Dixon, Matthew Witte, Vice Chair Janet Ray, Chair Jill

Johnson-Tucker

NOES: None ABSENT: None ABSTAIN: None

VII. COMMITTEE MEMBER ANNOUNCEMENTS (NON-DISCUSSION ITEMS)

No announcements were made.

VIII. MATTERS WHICH COMMITTEE MEMBERS WOULD LIKE PLACED ON A FUTURE AGENDA FOR DISCUSSION, ACTION OR REPORT (NON-DISCUSSION ITEM)

No matters were proposed.

IX. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Johnson-Tucker adjourned the meeting at 10:37 a.m.

APPROVED BY:	
	_
Chair Jill Johnson-Tucker	